Blog 0301c – Salvation Vocabulary: Salvation (Presence of Sin)

Presence of Sin

When you become a Christian, you will one day be saved from the presence of sin.

I Peter 1:5

who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time.

There will be a day, when we dwell with Jesus. We will have a home, not built with hands.

John 14

1 “Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. 2 In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? 3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.

1 John 3:2

2 Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what we will be has not yet been made known. But we know that when Christ appears, we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is.

We will be with Jesus, in a new body. One that is no longer under the curse of sin.

II Corinthians 5:

1 For we know that if the tent that is our earthly home is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens. 2 For in this tent we groan, longing to put on our heavenly dwelling… 5 He who has prepared us for this very thing is God, who has given us the Spirit as a guarantee.

6 So we are always of good courage. We know that while we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord, 7 for we walk by faith, not by sight…

Our bodies will be new. I think of these verses every time I stand up. I remember laughing at my grandparents and my parents when they involuntary groaned as they stood from a chair. Now that I am a little older, I hear my own body groan as I stand. In heaven, we will not have that groan, because we will be with HIM.

Revelation 21

He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

I look forward to the day I will be with Jesus.

Hebrews 10:36

You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised.

When Christians say they are saved. Part of what they are saying is that they will one day be saved from the presence of sin.

 

“Home Where I Belong”

B.J. Thomas

 

They say that heavens pretty

And living here is too

But if they said that I would

Have to choose between the two

 

I’d go home, going home

Where I belong

 

And sometimes when I’m dreaming

It comes as no surprise

That if you look and see

The homesick feeling in my eyes

 

I’m going home, going home

Where I belong

While I’m here I’ll serve him gladly

And sing him all my songs

 

I’m here, but not for long

And when I’m feeling lonely

And when I’m feeling blue

It’s such a joy to know that

I am only passing through

 

I’m headed home, going home

Where I belong

And one day I’ll be sleeping

When death knocks on my door

And I’ll awake and find

That I’m not homesick anymore

 

I’ll be home, going home

Where I belong, hmm

 

Notwithstanding …

We will be free from the presence of sin, but we will not be free from the reminder of sin. And this is a good thing.

John 20

26 Eight days later, his disciples were inside again, and Thomas was with them. Although the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you.” 27 Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here, and see my hands; and put out your hand, and place it in my side.

Jesus still has his scars. For eternity we will have the reminder that Jesus paid for our sins. We will be free from the presence of sin, but we will not be free from the reminder of sin.

This entry was posted in Heaven, Salvation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment